Skip to content

Jesus and your problems, part 4

September 15, 2014

Grace to you. Our Bible verse we are meditating on is 1 Corinthians 10:13 “No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.” We’ve seen how God uses problems to reveal our hearts, but Satan uses them to tempt us to turn away from the Lord. But we left with the question “Are there any other purposes God has in ordaining my problems?” The answer is yes. Though not exhaustive reasons, here are some to consider.

Problems show me that I am weak. They are a reminder that I need the grace of God to live in a way that pleases my Heavenly Father. Listen closely to 2 Corinthians 12:9 “But God said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

No doubt problems show me I’m weak. But that doesn’t matter! God’s power is available to live a life that pleases Him even if the problem persists when I ask for His grace! How can people see Christ’s power in me if all they see is my ability to constantly overcome every problem in my own power? Or how can they see the difference Christ makes if I only respond sinfully to problems? They won’t and that’s a major loss for the world and myself!

Another purpose of God ordained problems is to remind me that I need ultimate redemption. Too often we want all of our redemption and restoration in this world and this side of heaven. But as believers, we aren’t home yet. Problems remind me this life is not my final goal but to keep my eyes focused on the life and restoration to come when Jesus returns. And that’s the hard part. We are so stuck on this life we have left little room in our spiritual appetites for the eternal life God has prepared for us. We’ve all seen what happens when a loving parent begins to wean their child off of the pacifier. Lots of heartbreak for the infant but the parent knows they have to wean them off the elemental thing to something bigger and better. And this is what the Lord does to and for us. Problems help us not to hold too tightly to this world and seek to prepare our hearts to think of eternal, lasting joys in Christ’s presence. God has designed our problems to keep us heavenly focused and grace dependent. How do you respond?

Looking for a church home? Come visit South Whitwell Baptist, 133 South Oak Street, Whitwell. Sunday Service: 10:45 AM. Visit our web page: www.southwhitwellbaptist.webs.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

